Radical

RADICAL:
of, relating to, or characteristic of the basic or inherent constitution of a person or thing; fundamental a radical fault
2. concerned with or tending to concentrate on fundamental aspects of a matter; searching or thoroughgoing radical thought a radical re-examination
3. (Government, Politics & Diplomacy) favouring or tending to produce extreme or fundamental changes in political, economic, or social conditions, institutions, habits of mind, etc a radical party
4. (Medicine) Med (of treatment) aimed at removing the source of a disease radical surgery
5. Slang chiefly US very good; excellent
6. (Life Sciences & Allied Applications / Botany) of, relating to, or arising from the root or the base of the stem of a plantradical leaves
7. (Mathematics) Maths of, relating to, or containing roots of numbers or quantities
8. (Linguistics) Linguistics of or relating to the root of a word
As I flip pages devouring all I can and flipping back to understand what I did not, this word jumps to my mind, specifically in context of meanings 2 & 5. The book also got me jumping out of bed at 4 in the morning to write this post before I lost track of the random, non-linear thoughts.
ABUNDANCE, the future is better than you think by Peter Diamandis & Steven Kotler is The New York Times bestseller.
Disclaimer: Now, I’m not one to rush and buy books off the Pulitzer, Booker or Bestseller list as they seldom live up to the hype or mayhaps, they are too intellectual to one brought up on a steady diet of Bill Bryson, PG Wodehouse, Georgette Heyer and  Economist (though not necessarily in that order).
Book courtesy: Bambubhaibatliwala & Flipkart.
Amidst daily feeds of pessimism, doomsday prophecies, meltdowns and what-have-you here is this book that talks of a future that is bright, and even worth aspiring for. That gives hope that man is not ecociding towards no-man’s land and denuding Planet Earth in the race to feed on ever-increasing greed.
Anecdotes there are aplenty but this isn’t philosophy, it is hard facts that have you sit back and think. Perhaps, we are not lost after all.
Read the book, for I stop writing about Abundance by P&S here.
On a personal note, I’m going through a radical moment though by no measures as epochal. I’m in the process of exorcising fears and memories and seeking self-discipline to start a new journey. No, I don’t plan a trip to the Far East to pursue the arts of the Ninja nor am I trekking to the Himalayas.
I’m learning to drive a car without having an instructor sit next to me with the controls at his foot and his head in his hand as he tears his hair out in frustration and grits his teeth in agony at having to teach a woman with zero motoring skills and the stubbornness of a mule.
(Maslan:
Instructor-Madam, first gear is when your car stops in traffic and you need to start it again but at signals you can still drive using second gear.
Me (having switched off the car and restarting in first gear) – But you just said I had to always start in first gear. Instructor- Yes Madam, but you didn’t need to switch off the engine now, see the signal is green already. Madam, start now people are honking.
Me: Ok, ok (Desperately tries to start but for some strange reason the car refuses to start)
Instructor: Madam, press the accelerator when the car starts to vibrate
Me: But you asked me to start in half-clutch mode (See, I know my motoring words well)
Instructor: MADAM
Me: Ok, ok
And so, I have stopped taking classes, and praying to the zillion plus Gods we have I have taken my steering wheel, controls and faith in my own hand. Of course, not wanting to take other people’s faith in my hand and the even more tempestuous temper of Bambubhaibatliwala I have wisely and ahem, cowardly, chosen to drive in the wee hours of the morning (Ahem, another reason why I’m posting this at 4 in the morning so I don’t doze away and skip today’s drive).
I have also decided to stop ogling starlets in their size zer0 figures and  their teeny weeny bikinis wishing I were like them; and routinely cursing my south Indian upbringing that makes any meal without rice unthinkable; A Sweet Tooth that is actually sweet teeth with cavities that can never say NO to chocolates, pastries, indian sweets and even a sachet of diet-free sugar when there is nothing else; and GENES that make me unfitting for jeans as lard and barges roll out of all ports.
It is now or never, said a friend as he took the plunge from a secure 9-5 job and a paycheck to full-time entrepreneurship this past week.
I can’t follow suit as I still fight my bingeing impulse and the Credit Card devil in me, but I can do IT, get FIT at least physically. So I have enrolled myself in a kick boxing class.
So all ye faithful readers, cheer me or jeer me, at least I shall know I have company on the way…..Have a great weekend and cheers 😀
5 thoughts on “Radical

  1. I loved your story about driving with an instructor. I had a similar experience some years ago when I bought a standard shift car because it was cheaper. Eventually it taught me how to drive one but not without a few interesting stops and starts (especially on hills where once or twice I put on the parking brake, got out, and asked the driver behind to back up – they always did).

    ps: found you after a visit to Ghetufool

    • @susancrow, thanks for dropping by. I hope you do more often, and yes, Ghetufool’s writing from the heart always inspires me to pen my own.
      Ah, I finally managed to scurry out in the wee hours of the morning to take my car for a drive, my debut. With a thumping heart and trembling hands I managed to reverse it out of the parking lot only to bang against the half-open gates (The security guard was rubbing his sleep out and took longer to open the gate than it took for me to bang the car into it). So now I have a car with a broken number plate and a steely resolve to try and try again, like the good king bruce said.

Leave a Reply

