The Equation of Loneliness

“I hate this city,” he said. I looked aghast at him. “How can you when everybody who comes here never wants to go anywhere else?” I asked.

He got up, gave me a fierce look and walked away.

Had I done anything wrong?

I was new to the place and just trying to make polite conversation, perhaps trying to get to know him better. After all he would be my family too.

I turned around to find a neighbour look at me knowingly, come over and sit down at the just-vacated space.

“What do you expect?”

“He has no one here. No family. No friends.”

He gestured, “he has built a cocoon around himself.”

“He is a prisoner of his own making,” I said.

Why doesn’t he open up? Why doesn’t he talk to people instead of snarling at them ferociously, ready to bite their heads at innocuous remarks just as he had done.

 

2 thoughts on “The Equation of Loneliness

  1. May be he has been bitten once too often, that too, very vivaciously, the wound may have healed but the scar, inside remains; fresh and awake … making him feel it is better to be lonely than to open up and be hurt again. Never again, the pain not worth the effort! Life might have taught him that, one too many times.

  2. May be he has been bitten once too often, that too, very vivaciously, the wound may have healed but the scar, inside, remains; fresh and bleeding … making him feel it is better to be lonely than to open up and be hurt again. Never again, the pain not worth the effort! Life might have taught him that, one too many times.

Leave a Reply

